Page 7 of 7

Re: Rules thread

Posted: Sun May 10, 2015 8:23 am
by Jester
bruce wrote:There are no rules regarding holding your bag while playing a shot
To be puposely flippant, to illustrate the point, there is therefore nothing to stop a player hold their bag with their back foot? (and thus providing a counter-ballance to the falling putt as BOF describes)

Re: Rules thread

Posted: Sun May 10, 2015 2:03 pm
by bruce
Nope, just as you could hook it around a tree to prevent yourself falling

Re: Rules thread

Posted: Sun May 10, 2015 5:42 pm
by Jester
So what rule is broken please by the player holding their bag in anyway they choose?

Re: Rules thread

Posted: Sun May 10, 2015 6:29 pm
by BOF
So, I can use my bag as a counterweight.
Nope, just as you could hook it around a tree to prevent yourself falling
Did you mean your foot or your bag wrapped around the tree?

I can wrap my bag around a tree behind me and hold on to the bag, thus providing a sturdy anchor for me to lean forward and putt from closer?

I can hold on to anything behind me to provide support when playing a shot?

Please continue to advise.

Thanks thus far, Jester/Bruce.

BOF


Big Bag

Re: Rules thread

Posted: Sun May 10, 2015 6:47 pm
by Mark.A.D
BOF wrote:I can hold on to anything behind me to provide support when playing a shot?
This situation is covered in the Q & A section of the rules on the PDGA website:

QA 16: Using an Object Behind the Lie for Support
Q:
Can I hold onto a branch or other object behind my lie while putting?

A:
Holding on to something behind your lie is not prohibited by the rules, provided that the object is in-bounds. It also must not be moved, since you are required to take the stance that results in the least movement of obstacles on the course. You are not allowed to hold onto another person for support, as that person is not part of the course. Applicable rules: 802.04 Throwing from a Stance; 803.01 Obstacles and Relief.

Re: Rules thread

Posted: Sun May 10, 2015 8:38 pm
by BOF
I assume, therefore, that my bag would count as an 'object behind my lie'?

Hence, I cannot hold on to it?

I must put it on the ground and not touch it. Not even wrap a foot around it?

However, could I be wearing my bag over my shoulder(s)?

Still very confused.

BOF

Big Bag

Re: Rules thread

Posted: Mon May 11, 2015 7:32 am
by bruce
Maybe I was less than clear in my wording. You CAN hold your bag any which way you like while playing a shot, on your back, in your hand, dangling off your foot. If you liked you could probably have a 50m length of rope tied to your waist and you could lash yourself to the nearest tree, assuming it's a) behind the lie, b) doesn't move, c) you stay within the 30s rule. Or maybe you could construct a special left boot with a 30kg weight in it (assuming you're right-handed).

Let's be clear, any marginal benefit you'd get from the counterbalancing would be more than offset by the awkwardness.

Re: Rules thread

Posted: Mon May 11, 2015 1:52 pm
by BOF
Holding on to something behind your lie is not prohibited by the rules, provided that the object is in-bounds. It also must not be moved, since you are required to take the stance that results in the least movement of obstacles on the course. You are not allowed to hold onto another person for support, as that person is not part of the course. Applicable rules: 802.04 Throwing from a Stance; 803.01 Obstacles and Relief.
So, any fixed object can be used as support, as long as it is behind you and doesn't move, and is a part of the course.

Excellent.

Rope, crampons, carabiners and lead diving boots at the ready!

BOF

Big Boots